Bodies and Politics

US art of the 1960s to 1980s

In the context of a new wave of social movements in the USA, the term body politics emerged in the 1970s. It refers to the fact that concepts, modes of perception and practices of bodies and thus also ideas of self and society are subject to social and historical change. In accordance with Peter and Irene Ludwig’s understanding of art as a mirror of its respective contemporary history, this collection presentation explores how the relationship between body and politics was reflected in US art from the 1960s to the 1980s.
After all, these were very turbulent decades with different political connotations during the presidencies of Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter and Reagan. Thus, in this exhibition, we encounter controlled and protesting bodies, but also discriminated or emancipated bodies. What all artistic positions have in common is that they observe very attentively how political processes of power and oppression, of participation and exclusion express themselves physically.
In addition to numerous highlights such as Supermarket Lady (1970) by Duane Hanson or Grazing – Soup to Nuts, MGM, 1930 (1983) by Jean-Michel Basquiat, the exhibition also features rarely presented photographs by Andy Warhol and Gary Winogrand as well as video works by Joan Jonas and Bruce Nauman.

Curated by Holger Otten

Ludwig Forum Aachen
Jülicher Straße 97–109
52070 Aachen
Tel. +49 241 1807-104
Fax +49 241 1807-101
info@ludwigforum.de

Opening hours
Mon closed
Tue – Sun 10 am – 6 pm
Thu 10 am – 8 pm (except public holidays)

Guided tours and workshops
museumsdienst@mail.aachen.de

Bodies and Politics

US-Kunst der 1960er bis 1980er Jahre. Sammlung Ludwig

Im Kontext einer neuen Welle sozialer Bewegungen in den USA entstand in den 1970er Jahren der Begriff body politics. Er verweist darauf, dass Konzepte, Wahrnehmungsweisen und Praktiken von Körpern und damit auch Vorstellungen von Selbst und Gesellschaft einem sozialen und historischen Wandel unterliegen. Gemäß Peter und Irene Ludwigs Verständnis von Kunst als ein Spiegel ihrer jeweiligen Zeitgeschichte, untersucht diese Sammlungspräsentation, wie das Verhältnis von Körper und Politik in der US-amerikanischen Kunst der 1960er bis 1980er Jahre reflektiert wurde.

Schließlich handelt es sich um sehr bewegte Jahrzehnte mit unterschiedlichen politischen Vorzeichen während der Präsidentschaften von Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter und Reagan. So treffen wir in dieser Ausstellung auf kontrollierte und protestierende Körper, aber auch auf diskriminierte oder emanzipierte Körper. Allen künstlerischen Positionen ist hierbei gemeinsam, dass sie sehr aufmerksam beobachten, wie sich politische Prozesse von Macht und Unterdrückung, von Teilhabe und Ausschluss körperlich ausdrücken.

Neben zahlreichen Highlights wie der Supermarket Lady (1970) von Duane Hanson oder Grazing – Soup to Nuts, MGM, 1930 (1983) von Jean-Michel Basquiat, werden in der Ausstellung auch selten präsentierte Fotografien von Andy Warhol und Gary Winogrand sowie Videoarbeiten von Joan Jonas und Bruce Nauman gezeigt.

Kuratiert von Holger Otten

Ludwig Forum Aachen
Jülicher Straße 97–109
52070 Aachen
Tel. +49 241 1807-104
Fax +49 241 1807-101
info@ludwigforum.de

Öffnungszeiten
Mo geschlossen
Di–So 10–17 Uhr
Do 10–20 Uhr (außer an Feiertagen)

Führungen und Workshops
Tel.: +49 241 432-4998
museumsdienst@mail.aachen.de

Veranstaltungen
Kunstrauschen 11
Bodies and Politics
10.10.2021 – 13.11.2021
Familienbande
Großeltern-Enkelkinder-Programm
31.10.2021, 14:00 – 16:00 Uhr
Öffentliche Führung
Beat the System! Provokation Kunst
31.10.2021, 15:00 – 16:00 Uhr
Öffentliche Führung
Beat the System! Provokation Kunst
07.11.2021, 15:00 – 16:00 Uhr